Introducing… EDEL COX

INTRODUCING…

 EDEL COX is the owner and creator of TheBeautyDial.com a beauty, fashion and showbiz website. She set up the website as she loves writing. When she first started off in her PR career, she worked with many top Beauty and Fashion brands so The Beauty Dial seemed like the logical next step and gave her the perfect opportunity to write about the things and love and know.  Apart from running the website, she is also currently the PR and Marketing Manager of an Entertainment Complex in Cork so spends a lot of her time travelling up and down the country between Dublin and Cork.

1)    Why did you choose a career in Advertising/Marketing/PR/Media?

I have always had a in interest in the PR and Media world. I love the variety of the work and  the fast pace of the industry. No day is ever the same.

2)    How did you get into your chosen career?

In 2010 following on from a Business & management degree I went on to study for my Masters in PR in DIT. IT was a great course and really gave me the knowledge and connections I needed to get into the PR industry. As a result of the course I got to work with celebrity stylist  Lisa Fitzpatrick which was fantastic and gave me some invaluable experience in Fashion PR. This was my first step into the Fashion and Beauty PR industry.

3)    What has been the most creative advertising/marketing/ PR  campaign you have seen/been involved with to date?

One of my favourite campaigns I worked on was the Littlewoods Ireland ladies days with horse racing Ireland. We  organised celebrity judges including Amanda Brunker, Sinead Desmond, Sybil Mulcahy, Mairead Farrell, Bairbre Power and Maura Derrane for 6 race meets around Ireland. It was a great campaign as the celebrity aspect got great coverage in the media but apart from that it was a really fun and creative campaign that gave women around the country the opportunity to take part and really dress up and have fun with their style. The winner of the Best Dressed lady at each of the race meets won a fabulous prize from Littlewoods Ireland.

4)    Tell LovePR? About your average day?

I get up at about 8am and walk to work to be there for 9.30am. Its great to get my walk done and over with in the morning. The first thing I do is go through all my emails and make a plan for the day, I prioritise what needs to be done. Each day I usually have at least one meeting either with the of the brand managers, the managing director, event management companies, advertising personnel etc. I spend the rest of the day in the office then doing a range of things from, organising artwork, sending out press releases, organising bookings, managing marketing budgets, processing invoices etc.

Then when I get home I  normally have dinner straight away as Im always starving ha-ha. I will chill out and relax for an hour then before starting work on The Beauty Dial.com  I normally try to do at least one article a night to make sure the site stays on top and current. This work normally starts off going through all the emails sent in by readers which consists of Q&A’s, requests for beauty reviews, notifying competition winners, advertising requests etc.

After this I try to spend an hr watching TV  just to relax before bed!

Then I try to take the weekend off and have some fun.

5)    What has been the high point of your career to date?

The high point of my career so far has got to be setting up The Beauty Dial.com  as its my own and something I created from scratch.  I was so nervous setting it up and I was so surprised at how fast it has grown and continues to grow so hopefully it will continue to go onwards and upwards as I am really proud of it and all of The Beauty Dial.com writers…They are fantastic, I couldn’t ask for better.

6)    Any advice for new graduates in your field?

Push the boundaries and go for what you really really want. You never know what you can achieve until you try!

Leave a Reply

