INTRODUCING… ELAINE HESSION

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 9.12.52 am

INTRODUCING… ELAINE HESSION!

Elaine Hession, owner and founder of Lovelane PR. Fashion stylist for the Irish Wedding Diary and makeup Artist & Blogger for Closer2Fabulous. 

1)       Why did you choose a career in Advertising/Marketing/PR/Media?

Genuinely, I always found myself attracted to marketing campaigns, PR stunts and was sucked in by new and innovated things on the market especially in the beauty and fashion area. I guess I was adamant to work in this area.  I studied Languages & Marketing in college so I really felt that my life was set up to head in this direction from an early age. 

2)       How did you get into your chosen career?

After college I started out working with Publicis D the fourth biggest advertising company in the world which was my dream job! There, I inherited a wealth of invaluable experience as well as building a huge network of contacts.  In March 2013, I decided to set up LoveLane PR and target smaller companies that needed help to create marketing & PR awareness.  I immediately, threw myself into research and starting pitching to small companies as well as networking with various contacts I met along the way. As a result of my networking I met a very important person who I am blessed to have met – Deborah Leonard. Together we bounced some ideas together, I helped her with some marketing ideas and she educated me in the beauty industry. To date, I have now become a makeup artist, a blogger on the Closer2Fabulous blog and a stylist on the Irish Wedding Diary Magazine as well as running my own PR business.  

3)       What has been the most creative advertising/marketing/ PR campaign you have seen/been involved with to date?

To be honest, there has been so many campaigns down through the years that I have had the privilege to work on. 

At the moment I am working on an exciting new campaign for Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics, brand new makeup line which has just landed on Irish shores.  It’s exciting working on new brands and Youngblood is one.  This amazing product is paraben free, talc free, totally free from chemicals of any kind, cruelty free and environmentally friendly.  So watch this space.

4)       Tell LovePR? About your average day?

Hum….probably NOT very average at all!

An early start on Facebook, twitter and all social media’s to see what’s happening in the world. Then on to my emails and make a plan for the day. 

Touch base with all my clients on on-going campaigns.. Write press releases and send to press for publishing. Liaise with press on scheduled articles.

Daily interaction with bloggers on twitter. Attending launches of new products a few times a week and writing blogs on new products. 

Pitching to new clients for new business. 

Every quarter there are 2-3 shoots for the Irish Wedding Diary magazine I organise clothes and Jewellery for all the shoots.  

The weekends attempt to keep free but often times I am busy doing makeup for weddings. 

I do love getting out and about at the weekends, catching up with friends, chilling and doing some exercise.  

5)       What has been the high point of your career to date?

I thinking setting up my own business was the highlight of my career to date.  I really feel that I have found what I have always loved to do and now that I am my own boss I can put my own creative stamp on things. 

6)       Any advice for new graduates in your field?

 Internships are a great way of getting your foot in the door and really help to build your contacts. It might be hard initially but in the long run you will thank yourself for doing it! 

Experience is key… the more you have, the more your employer will want you!

Leave a Reply

